Indiana  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
6/17/10, 9:59 am

Legal Question


I was sent a notice from a company called Masterfile claiming copyright infringement on two images that were on my website. I obtained these images from an online source in 2006 (I buy subscriptions to images sites, etc) and have been using them since on my website just for decoration. Masterfile provided a document from the alleged artist of the images wherein he granted Masterfile the right to copyright all of his materials, this was dated in 2008. Masterfile is demanding over $8,000 for two images (which I probably paid $10 for the both back in '06). I have removed them but they said this does not resolve it.

My question is, how can they come against me for a copyright infringement when I legally obtained the images two years before the artist granted them the right to copyright his work? Also being that I obtained them from an online photo site and paid for them, how can I now be held liable for something I legally obtained some two years before they had any authority of it?!

Thank you for your assistance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search