Legal Question in Criminal Law in Iowa

In Rem forfeiture no charges

Narcotics Task Force raided house, did not give reason for search, found a pinch of marijuana and $100, not together and seized in their approximation, $4600 of our property. (Digital cameras, laptop, etc.) Told us they were taking our stuff because they knew we were dealing drugs and they thought our things were purchased as a result. This was March 14, and no criminal charges have been filed, but after I applied for return of seized property, they filed a forfeiture claim. What is going on?

Asked on 4/24/07, 2:47 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: In Rem forfeiture no charges

They're forfeiting your property is what's going on. I suggest you retain a competent attorney in your area.

Read more
Answered on 4/24/07, 3:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now