Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Iowa

I live in Iowa and recently moved out of a rental house. Almost two months later the land lord comes to me with a bill for almost $2000. I was outraged! I knew we had sooner minor damages but the majority of things listed were already damaged before we moved in. We did a walk through when we moved in and noted everything damaged, which was a lot but nothing that made it uninhabitable, and since rentals are sparse we took it, but he never wrote any of it down and is now trying to get over on us! We never had a lease or had to pay a deposit. We lived there for over two years. I jabber two people that lived with us for the first year ready to testify about all the damages that were there, but is this enough in court to prove we don't owe this money? Please help

Asked on 4/30/13, 1:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Let the landlord sue you and then you can go to small claims court and tell the court your story. I have a question. How do you "jabber two people"?

Read more
5/01/13, 5:50 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8808 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now