Iowa  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
6/03/03, 5:58 pm

Legal Question


Required state of practice for attorney in Medical Malpractice case

In seeking a Medical Malpractice attorney, does the attorney need to have a practice in the state where the incident occurred?

Specifically, I live in New Mexico. My mother lived (now deceased) in Iowa and the physician that treated her also lives in Iowa. We are seeking a Medical Malpractice attorney for obvious negligence by the doctor that eventually ended up in my mother's painful death. Does the attorney we find need to have a practice in the state of Iowa or can the suit be brought by an attorney from a different state (for our convenience)?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search