Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Iowa

My family has been renting a house for the past year. We decided to buy the house at the end of our rental contract. The bank had set the closing date for our house at the end of July, which is the end of our rental contract. Because of abstracter taking a vacation and a vacation of another person involved in the sale of the house it has pushed the closing date to the end of august and now our landlord wants to add on august rent to the asking price of the house. Is this legal for her to do?

Asked on 8/22/13, 3:35 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Until you become owner someone else is. That someone is the person you are renting from. After a lease expires you are a holdover tenant, and yes. They can charge rent.

Read more
8/23/13, 10:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now