Kansas  |  Disability Law

question bubble
5/21/99, 11:14 am

Legal Question


Disability discrimination

I have a severe hearing disability. During a meeting in my workplace I was called upon to answer a question by the supervisor in charge. When I responded that my hearing aid was not functioning properly and I could not hear his question, and could he please repeat his question, he launched into a pantomime poking fun at my disability by laughing and pretending to speak to me by moving his lips and not saying anything; non-verbal gibberish, if you will. He seemed to think this was very amusing.

There were quite a few folks present during this meeting. I felt like a fool!

Question: is such conduct allowed?? Is this 'discrimination'?? Do I have any recourse to this incident?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search