Kansas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
My husband has been picked up and interrogated by the police in several occasions and arrested once, ALL while not being read his miranda rights. Is this legal in the state of Kansas.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jay Ramey |
You say he was "picked up" but then you say he was only arrested once. I do not know what "picked up" means if you are saying he was only arrested once. The Miranda warning only needs to be read to a suspect when he is "in custody." For all practical purposes that means under arrest. In every state in the union, it is illegal to question someone that is in custody without first giving the Miranda warning. The remedy is that any statement made by the defendant who is in custody and was not given the Miranda warning is to have the statement suppressed. |
Top Attorneys in KS
LawSmith
Lee's Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 3761
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Bonnie J. Selby, Attorney at Law
Goodland, KS
Questions Answered: 240
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-04-05
Jay K. Ramey, Attorney at Law
Tulsa, OK
Questions Answered: 194
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Santoro Law Office
Bonner Springs, KS
Questions Answered: 192
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
James Manning, PC
Harrisonville, MO
Questions Answered: 157
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-13
Grant Griffiths
Clay Center, KS
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-07-14
Law Office of Adam Mack
Topeka, KS
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-23
The Legal Resource Center
Lees Summit, MO
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-11-30
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
OLLER, JOHNSON & BITTEL, L.L.C.
Hays, KS
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-11-06
Search Questions and Answers


