Kansas | Juvenile Dependency
Legal Question
Guardian wants to terminate guardianship of minor
I am a legal guardian for my cousin's 9 year old daughter. I find that I can no longer accept the responsibility. The child has been living with her mother anyway for the last 1 1/2 years. I see no compelling reason to continue being her guardian (the original problems that the mother had have been resolved.) The mother wants to move out of state and I know that I would be unable to visit the child or ensure that her needs are being met. Even if I knew the child was not being cared for properly I would be unable to take back custody of her. I want out of the responsibility. I would rather not have to go through my lawyer, as our finances have been drained because of this child. Can I do this on my own?


