Kentucky | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
If I stop paying my credit card payments. I do not own anything they can take. I am 70 years old and not worried about my credit rating What can they do and will they do
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Rogers |
If they file suit against you, they might get a judgment against you. If they obtain a judgment against you, they can use that judgment to do, typically, three things. They can file a judgment lien against your real property, they can garnish your paycheck if you have one, or they can garnish, or take money without your permission out of your bank account. They can also levy against your non-exempt property. Even though you are 70 years old and not worried about any assets they can take or worried about your credit, you may still want to consider bankruptcy as an option, or at least meet with an attorney to consider that option. Most attorneys provide a free, no charge, initial consultation. I would encourage you to at least meet with an attorney to do that. |
Top Attorneys in KY
Welker Law Office
Lexington, KY
Questions Answered: 920
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Davis Law Office
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 288
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Thomas A. McAdam, III, Attorney
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bryan Gowin Attorney at Law
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Van Wert Brown
Lexington, KY
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-10
Affordable Louisville Lawyer
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-17
Law Office of R. Brian Ousley
Henderson, KY
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Abell Law Office
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-27
James V. Magee, Jr., Attorney at Law
Cincinnati, OH
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-12-15
Search Questions and Answers


