Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Louisiana

Civil Suit

I received a notice of a civil suit today. It was from a credit card I had 3 years ago. I had a balance of 5,000.00 that I couldn't pay. Now that it has interest added to it I am being sued for almost 14,000.00 dollars. I don't have to money to pay this. Im not working right now due to the fact that my childrens dad died and my son was problems. What is going to happen to me if I cant pay it back. I am remarried but Im not on the house mortgage and I don't have any assets in my name. My husband doesnt have the money or he would pay it. Isn't there a statue of limitations law or something?

Asked on 4/07/08, 5:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

J. David Andress Grand Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Civil Suit

The prescriptive period for an open account in Louisiana is 3 years pursuant to LSA C.C. Art. 3494.

Read more
4/07/08, 6:19 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now