Legal Question in Family Law in Louisiana

my father died in 1989. my sibling and I were under age. my father was married to my step-mother at the time of his death. the house and land that they were living in was my father's property before their marriage (separate property). the succession was never closed. does my step mother have any rights to the land? the house was destroyed by a tornado some years ago. my siblings and I are not concerned about our 1/3 of my fathers half from community property, we just want our share of the land. can we do the succession to just finalize the land? we are wanting to do this with out an attorney.

Asked on 6/19/13, 12:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This is large and complicated. It is worth the money. Hire an attorney.

Read more
6/19/13, 12:13 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now