Maryland | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
"Can home child care be included in a bankruptcy?"
I provided child care for two children. During their last week of care, the parents informed me that they would not be back because the mother was now unemployed. She told me they would pay me for the week on Thursday or Friday. My contract calls for 2 weeks written notice or equivalent payment on the child's last day. I filed suit for the money owed and a month later they filed an intent to defend, their reason bankruptcy. Can they avoid paying a home daycare provider because they are filing bankruptcy? I have never received a bankruptcy notice from their attorney. Our scheduled court date is at the end of November.


