Maryland  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/17/04, 10:21 pm

Legal Question


Tax Liens and Chapter 7 Bankruptcy

Hello All,

I'd plan to file Chapter 7 (no assets; reaffirming car loan; has negative equity, but need to keep) in December, however today, I received a ''Notice of Lien of Judgment for Unpaid Tax) letter from the Comptroller of Maryland for a 3782.00 tax debt from 2000. Since this lien was recorded prior to my BK filing, I'm assuming it's non-dischargeable.

In that case, I plan to send an Offer of Compromise to Maryland to hopefully pay 10% of debt (can't afford more). My only problem is that it states that you can't have an open bankruptcy when doing this.

What's my best course of action? Hold off on the Offer of Compromise until I get my discharge? Does the automatic stay apply to this lien? Also, do I need to include owed taxes in my Chapter 7 filing?

Any advice is extremely appreciated. I would prefer to have an attorney handle my case, but unfortunately, I cannot afford to pay $500-1500.00 to have it done, so pro se is my only option.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search