Maryland  |  Business Law

question bubble
5/25/04, 3:07 pm

Legal Question


Sole Proprietorship?

I am self employed and run an assisted living facility. I own 93 shares of the company and my manager owns 7 shares. This agreement is in writing, but we do not have our actual partnership in writing. Prior to this ''partnership'', I was a sole proprietor of this same business. I have been asking my partner to put our intentions and agreement in writing, but he has been unwilling to do so. I have been doing some research, and I believe that he is operating under the Uniform Partnership Act, in which he would be entitled to 50 percent of the business. I would like to know if there is not any written partnership agreement, if the business is really still a sole proprietorship. Please advise.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search