Maryland | Business Law
Legal Question
Unwritten contact law
In the State of Maryland is an unwritten ''Gentlemans Agreement'' supportable in court in a contract dispute?
Unwritten contact law
In the State of Maryland is an unwritten ''Gentlemans Agreement'' supportable in court in a contract dispute?
|
Read More Answered By: Alton Drew |
Re: Unwritten contact law In general, as long as there is an exchange of promises and you can show consideration given for those promises, you have an enforceable contract. |
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Unwritten Contacts and Enforcement It all depends. Certain contractual matters must be in writing to take an action for enforcement. These matters are referred to as those falling under the Statute of Frauds. This statute has nothing to do with fraud and is more related to the competency of evidence where disputes arise. Things like performance that cannot be rendered within a year and sales of land must be in writing to seek enforcement on the contract. This is not to say that there are no other actions available as an action in equity remains despite there not being contractual actions. Other matters are required by selected statutes to be in writing; however, the lack of a writing and enforceability vary based on statute. A good example on the latter point is insurance contracts.
Nontheless, many subjects can and are contracted daily without a written contract. Enforcement in contract is viable for these matters. However, the plaintiff bears the burden of proving the elements of a contract where an enforcement action is taken in court. The elements are consideration, meeting of minds, arms length dealing, and various stipulations as to performance such as the amount of payment, time of payment, terms of performance, etc.
If you have an unwritten contract which is not being honored, you may have a remedy. Depending on the relative importance of the matter, you may want to consider consulting with an attorney.
G. Joseph Holthaus III (410) 799-9002 |
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
► Creating Legal Entities How are subsidiaries created for parent companies? For...
► Re-Sale of Modified Name Brand Products Is it legal to buy an article of clothing,...
► Antique Car - Destroyed in Storage by Fire My husband had an antique car - 1970...
► Liability I would like to start a club for stay at home moms. This would include...
► What are my legal rights to jointly owned business with husband? mY HUSBAND, MYSELF...
► If a Corporation Does Not Exist Because of Delinquent A company forfeited its...
► Covenant Not to Compete Is it legal for a company to give employees a covenant not...
More Business Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press