Maryland | Technology Law
Legal Question
new e-commerce site
Which legal forms do I need for a new e-commerce site I'm establishing? We'll be selling products from a variety of vendors in a variety of categories including comestibles, electronics, toys, personal care products and more.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Rinaldi |
Re: new e-commerce site You need a very good end user license agreement that disclaims all possible foreseeable causes of action. You need separate end user licenses for the U.S and the European Union, as well as any other country you are selling the merchandise in. The laws are different, and terms in End User license agreements that are okay in the U.S. will not be okay in the E.U. and vice versa.
Also you need agreements with each and every product supplier, to address liability for personal injury, intellectual property ownership, etc.
You also need a very good web site development agreement, that addresses issues such as ownership of content, processing times, etc. Do not use the form given to you by the developer, as they may try to claim ownership of your content, as well as your site.
You need to register to collect sales taxes in every state that you are present in the United States. You need to talk to an attorney immediately to determine what constitutes physical presence for sales tax collection, and in which states you are physically present.
Please sent up a good merchant account relationship with a major bank to process your credit card payments. I recommend PNC, Bank of America, or Citicorp. Do not use pay pal! Pay Pal's compliance with Money Lasundering Laws and Regulations is not good, and you will be liable for their non compliance.
If you have any further questions, please contact me. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Robert Beatson, II
Potomac, MD
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-21
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bromberg, Rosenthal, LLP
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Law Office of Lowell G. Wilson
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 56
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-08
Search Questions and Answers


