Maryland | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
what if I cant afford my rent. Can I break my lease? If I just leave will this follow me?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Schultz |
If you can't pay your rent, your landlord can file for failure to pay rent which will ultimately result in an eviction unless you can pay the rent. Have you looked into available housing assistance? You can leave, but you will be responsible for the rent until the lease expires or the premises are re-rented. If you are in a month to month lease, or approaching an automatic renewal of the lease, you should give notice before you go to limit your liability. If you leave, there is a good chance that the landlord will pursue future collection activity. Some leases included language for a early termination where you pay two months rent (not including your security deposit) in order to terminate the lease immediately. Review the lease language carefully. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Search Questions and Answers


