Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Maryland

I co-signed a load for my friend a few years ago to help her out. In a couple of years she was diagnosed with cancer, she passed away recently. The debt collectors have been trying to reach me to pay the loan back. It is over $4,000 now, am I responsible for my friend's debt or is there a way out? Thanks.

Asked on 8/14/12, 7:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brett Weiss Chung & Press, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Generally speaking, unless the loan documents provide that the loan is forgiven on the death of the borrower, her death does not affect your liability under the guarantee.

Read more
8/15/12, 7:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Maryland

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now