Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/26/02, 12:33 pm

Legal Question


Paid in Full Charge-Offs, does the 7-year clock restart?

I am in the process of paying off in full a couple of accounts that were charged off and sent to collections. The last activity on these accounts show on my credit report as 1997, so they will ''fall off'' in a couple of years. If I make payment in full, will the last activity date reset, and the 7-year clock start over?

I want to pay off these debts, but I don't want to the clock to restart, as being that if I do nothing, they will be off my record in 2 years.

Thanks for your replies.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search