Maryland | Criminal Law
Legal Question
expungement
Once i was charged with assualt,but not convicted.I got pbj.How can i have this expunged from my record, and can i do it myself, and if so how.Also would this ever prevent me form getting a new job.Thank you.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Judith Stainbrook |
Re: expungement If you were in District Court, you should be able to go back there and ask the clerk for a form you can fill out requesting that your record be expunged. You should be able to do this yourself. If you were in Circuit Court I don't think the court clerk has a form, and you might need an attorney to help you. You don't say how long ago you got the pbj and whether you have had convictions for anything else. This may affect whether you can get an expungement. Whether or not the pbj will affect your employment depends on your employer. It does show up on your record as a pbj, and some employers who check your criminal record may not want to hire you even though it was technically not a conviction.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of Jason Cleckner, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 859
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
William L. Welch, III Attorney
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 818
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Search Questions and Answers


