Maryland | Criminal Law
Legal Question
If I plead nolo contendere, will it still violate my parole in Maryland?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Schultz |
Most likely, yes. A nolo contendere simply means that, while not admitting guilt, that you are admitting that the State has sufficient evidence to prove that you broke a law beyond a reasonable doubt. A nolo contendere is only viable if the judge is willing to accept it. By not contesting the state's case, there is a very high chance that the court will find you guilty of the offense with which you are charged. It is practically similar to pleading not guilty to an agreed statement of facts, where the State reads the facts into the record without opposition, and the defendant does not present any factual defense.
It is the court's conviction of you that will violate your parole. Keep in mind that there are a variety of conditions in place as part of your parole - and the underlying conduct that forms the basis of the charges may violate additional parts of your parole, such as possessing a firearm. |
|
Read More Answered By: William Welch |
Nolo contendere results in a finding that the law was violated, and that will be sufficient to violate parole. Keep in mind that neither the state nor the court must accept a plea of nolo.
An attorney can assist you in evaluating the state's evidence and pursuing the best outcome for you. If the new charge carries less time than the parole violation, you may want to go to trial. If the new charge carries more, then you may not want the risk.
I offer a free initial consultation. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of Jason Cleckner, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 859
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
William L. Welch, III Attorney
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 818
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Search Questions and Answers


