Maryland | Criminal Law
11/20/09, 9:50 pm
Legal Question
I have a ten year old felnoy charge ,and would like to resolve and close the case. what are the steps Ineed to take.?
I have a ten year old felnoy charge ,and would like to resolve and close the case. what are the steps Ineed to take.?
|
Read More Answered By: Bill Wood |
That would depend on the status of the case. If there is an outstanding warrant, then a request to recall or quash the warrant would need to be filed. In addition, a request for a hearing should be filed. Given the age of the case, the State may not be able to prove its case. Witnesses may no longer be available, evidence may have been lost or compromised, etc. I would recommend consulting further with an experienced criminal defense attorney regarding the next steps. |
|
Read More Answered By: William Welch |
An attorney can investigate the status of your case and evaluate it for you, so that you know exactly what you are doing before you do it. If there is a warrant and you walk into the local police department or State's Attorney's Office, you may find yourself trying to resolve a ten year old charge from jail. It is a lot more difficult for a person to defend himself or herself or help his or her lawyer from jail. In addition, it can take weeks or months to resolve even an old case. The State's Attorney gets time to review the case, search for witnesses, and prepare.
|
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 859
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 818
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
► Person was originally given one weekend to serve at detention center. That weekend...
► Can the police go into your crouch while we are in public?
► When questioning a minor wout counsel, does it have to be at school or at the police...
► I got 36 months of probation before judgement for a misdemeanor theft charge, my...
► If the DA got a court order to get your DNA and you gave it to them. Why would they...
► My court papers from a violation of probation case say nothing about reporting to a...
► What would i be facing with a theft under $500.00 charge in state of maryland
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press