Maryland | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
I cannot work my previous job at the hospital (due to medical problem).
I have worked for the hospital for almost 7 years. I was out out on sick leave, 4-2004 thru 10-2004, due to surgery for lung cancer. I returned to work. Then 9-2005 I had to go on sick leave again, because I had to have surgery on the disk in my neck. I was due to return to work in March. I had a return to work from my doctor, but the hospital made me see their company doctor, before they would let me return to work. I saw the doctor, and he said that I could do other jobs in the hospital, but I couldn't return to my former job, of driving the hospital van for the psych. dept.(Transporting psych.patients), due to the problems with my back,and neck, and also my pain medications.
I also have passed the typing test though the hospital, that makes me eligible for more positions. But so far I still do not have a position with them. As of March 25th I have lost my sick pay and my health insurance. I have almost 7 years with the hospital. I will loose all of my seniority and retirement years, if I do not have a position with them by September.Are they required to find me another position in the hoospital?
Thank You?


