Maryland | DUI Law
Legal Question
I was given a civil citation for alcohol possession. However the undercover cops never saw anything in my hands or anything because I had not consumed any alcohol since being on the property of the establishment where my friends and I received our citations. I had drank 2 beers prior to going but when the cops approached us I had nothing. They asked for my id and filled out citations for my friends who had can in their hands as well as myself but did not ask if i had been drinking until they had filled out half the citation. I was honest and said I had drank 2 beers prior to being there.
Can I be charged with alcohol possession if I wasn't holding anything at any time when they saw me or did they not have a right to ask for my id in the first place because I wasn't holding nor doing anything that was clearly wrong.


