Maryland | DUI Law
9/07/09, 1:03 pm
Legal Question
I live in maryland and got a dui in north carolina. will my license be suspended in maryland?
I live in maryland and got a dui in north carolina. will my license be suspended in maryland?
|
Read More Answered By: Jason Cleckner |
You should probably ask this question of a NC lawyer, but in Maryland, the way it works if you have an out of state license is that they can suspend your license/privilege to drive in MD, but not in any other State. So theoretically your privilege to drive in NC would be suspended, but you could drive anywhere else, including MD. |
|
Read More Answered By: William Welch |
Maryland and North Carolina both participate in an agreement among several states to share motor vehicle violation information. Generally speaking, the agreement requires the member states to give an out of state violation the same effect as if it had happened in the "home" state. However, you can defend the charge in NC and seprately defend the MVA's administrative action in Maryland. While a DUI will trigger an administrative suspension, you may request either "no action" or a work only license instead of complete suspension by Maryland. Beware that there are deadlines. |
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 859
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 818
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-20
► I may lose my drivers license due to a bad or miss calibrated Interlock device!!What...
► Does DUI fit under the category of traffic violation or crime when applying for a...
► Understanding that you can be "charged" with just about anything a cop...
► Possession of alcohol Myself and 2 others received an alcohol citation in Howard...
► Possession of alcohol citation Myself and 2 others received an alcohol citation in...
► Alcohol Citation I wasn't sure which Area of Law to put this under, so I put it...
► Court date changed Retained attorney changed the court date without clients...
More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press