Maryland  |  Education Law

question bubble
2/19/00, 8:13 pm

Legal Question


Search and Seizure in public school system

Recently my son was expelled from public school for having a B.B. gun in school. It looks as if he will not be able to continue school in the state because of their "Zero Tolerance Policy". He has a clean record, and did not use the gun in a threatning manner. He merely did an unsmart kid thing. He is 10 years old.

A teacher sent another kid into my son's book bag without his permission looking for a book and they found the B.B. gun. Since a 10 year old has to deal with very technical policies, Must the school adhere to Search and Seizure laws? I need him in school.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search