Maryland  |  Entertainment Law

question bubble
4/05/06, 9:55 pm

Legal Question


Writer's Agreement

A friend of mine has a copywritten idea for a movie. He knows what he wants from the film but wants me to write the script. The concept and some direction is his but the words and flow of the story is mine. He wants to shop this to major film companies but before I give him a finished script here are my questions:

What kind of agreement do I need to have?

As a writer, what am I entitled to?

Is there a set percentage I should be entitled to?

How do I keep my rights if this film is picked up?

Do I have the right to be compensated for writing the script AND royalties if it is picked up?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search