Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
Inalienable, Constitutional right to shared custody over mere objection of mothe
Child born 9/25/97. Mother absconds 10/15/97. Mom's counseled Complaint and Dad's pro se Answer filed 12/18/97. Hearing 4/98 Custody mom, visitation dad Pendente Lite. Both parents fit (child needed adjustment time - visit dad every wk end as granted Ordered). Exceptions filed (re: interalia, mysterious Psych 'facts' not in evidence yet assumed) Trial 'verdict' 9/15/98 SOLE custody mom, 'Visitation' dad (all thur to fri and alt. thus - sun.) Appeals filed. Dad earns 45% to mom's 55%. Dad (and other child)garnished. Appeals denied for failure to pay fees. mom denies visitation for year while dad files unheed contempt motions. Lawyer retain w/state income tax return. Mom found in contempt but modification and shared custody not allowed by Judge to be considered.
Mom's contempt continues. Out of money. both Daughter's savings depleted. Order predicated on Judge assuming facts NOT in evidence re; speculation of psychological effects of joint custody in "extraordinary" circumstance that Mom wants sole and child support. Where do Dad's go to Experience Due Process and have Shared Custody Rights upheld?


