Maryland  |  Federal Tort Claims

question bubble
6/20/04, 3:51 am

Legal Question


What is the ''minor's recovery in tort'' law and ...

My son was a minor when he was involved in a car accident. I sued and won Nov 2002). I rec'd the recovery check, which was made out to both he and I. He was still a minor. He is now over 18 and is suing me for the settlement money. A local lawyer told me that the money was only to be used for him (the child that was hit). NO ONE TOLD ME THAT AT THE TIME OF SETTLEMENT. The money is gone. The child did get items from the settlement ... (cash, computer, fax machine, copy machine, tv for his dorm room, traveling money from my home to his college). The local lawyer told me that I would lose the case I don't understand this. We were involved in an accident a few years ago and there was money ''awarded this child in that''. The money was used to take care of medical bills and other household bills (groceries, etc.) Why is this different?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search