Maryland | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Co-sign on car
I co-signed for a car for an ex-assistant of mine after she told me her husband whom she was divorcing was coming to get her car. I felt sorry for her because she had two small children. I told her at the time that all i ask is that she make the payments on time and if she ever got in trouble to tell me and i would see of i could help her out. All of what she told me was a lie about her husband as i learned after the fact. She is late on the payments nearly every month and it has ruined my credit. Her boyfriend has forbade me from talking to her or contacting her and he also guarenteed the payments verbally and that was also a lie. Is there anyway i can force her to get my name off the car or force her to sell it or get a court order to make her keep the payments current or can i sue her for ruinening my credit. Or am i just screwed for being a nice guy and trying to help someone i thought was in need.


