Maryland | Civil Litigation
9/09/10, 9:18 am
Legal Question
If neighbor's tree falls on my house, are they responsible for damages?
If neighbor's tree falls on my house, are they responsible for damages?
|
Read More Answered By: Sean T. Morris |
Not necessarily, but perhaps. In Maryland, cases such as these are governed by the law of negligence. Thus, your neighbor would be liable only if he had notice that it was likely that the tree would fall and failed to take adequate steps to remedy the situation. If you think this might apply to your situation, or if you are not sure, feel free to email me to discuss in greater detail stm@morrisesq.com. |
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Generally and usually the answer is "no". Even if you made notice upon the property where the tree stood you bear proof of the showing lack of prudence. This is best handled with a claim against your insurer who is responsible for then claiming reimbursement through subrogation (which means your insurer then stands in your shoes to recover against your neighbor for the negligence that you assume.) |
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
► 1- At what point do you become responsible for condominium fees if you are the first...
► I was sued by a hospital to pay for medical services i did not owe .i paid the bill...
► My ex friend left a bag in my car. now she wants me to bring it to her house i told...
► My ex girlfriend is ignoring my request to return my Grandmothers antique cedar...
► I recently found out that my condo insurance had been charging me a premium based on...
► I filled a 30,000.00 Claim in Small Claims Court in Rockville Maryland agains an A/C...
► Can i sue someone for insulting me on a mailing list, i have all hos details, email...
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press