Re: Shared credit card account
11 March 2002
Thank you for your message. Well, this could be a
test for your relationship with your girlfriend or it
could be just too much trouble. As with say, a long distance
phone card that you both use, a credit card company will
hold you EACH liable for ALL charges, even if the two of you
agree to only be responsible for your own personal charges.
So these agreements between the card holders will have no
bearing on the credit card company. The same could be said
for a situation like a lease that is in both your names.
By the way, the fact that the agreement you propose to make between
yourselves might be notarized, has nothing to do with its validity or
long range effect. It is a contract binding between the two of you
regardless of whether it is notarized.
It might become difficult over time to separate these charges
between one person or another. It could work, if you keep to your
pledge mutually, and are meticulous about going over each month's
bill. A better approach would be just separate charge cards. I am
not on my wife's charge accounts, and she is not on mine. Less
bloody that way.
So good luck, but I would caution you to be clear that your
agreement includes a pledge that each person will pay charges
which that person has incurred and which will post on the
charge card, even if the relationship were to end. Bad enough
for the relationship to be over, than to be dealing with
"dunning" the other person over (or be stuck with) $1,500 or
so of outstanding charges. Be serious about your pledge,
deal with the charge bill as it comes each month, and be ready
to deal with the issue forthrightly if the relationship is over.
Again, however, as far as the charge company is concerned, each
person whose name is on the account can be held responsible for
all charges. If your girlfriend is the only name on the charge
account, she is the only legally responsible party, regardless
of the agreement between you.
Charles Michaels
1579 Dellsway Road
Baltimore, MD 21286