Maryland | Health Care Law
Legal Question
False Urine Drug Screens
I was inrolled in an intensive outpatient treatment program due to having a alcohol positve urine drug screen. This was a valid result have I have been sober for five years. I have never had a problem with drugs. 9 months into the treatment program, a random urine sample came up positive for opiates. I did not ingest anykind of opioid drug but did eat poppy seed bagles on a regular basis. When I was confrunted with this positive test I refussed to acknowledge that I had a drug problem. Subsequently, I was terminated from my job because I did not complete the agreed apon treatment program. I have moved on with my life but am currently trying to clear my name and standinig in this small comunity. I participated in a deposistion already but the representitives of the hospital and treatment center are the same. They have puirgered themselves in the deposistion but I am afried that the judge who reviews this case will dismiss my claims. This is a very small comunity and the hospital is the strongest bussiness in the area and their law firm the most prestigius. What can I do to prevent this injustice of being railroaded by the hospital cooperation?


