Maryland  |  Legal Malpractice

question bubble
4/03/01, 12:28 am

Legal Question


Failure to notify the Defendant in Accident claim.

I live in WV, but the accident & my lawyer is in MD, and the original accident case was filed in MD. My lawyer for accident case filed the case in court just in time for the statute of limitations. However apparently my lawyer notifyed the defendant that he was being sued by certified mail, and never received the certified mail return receipt. I recently received notice from the courts notifying me that the dismissal of my case was being postponed so my lawyer can have time to prove that the defendant was actually notified. Which I don't know how he can do that if he doesn't have the returned receipt. Anyway, I was previously offered an 11,000 settlement from the defendants insurance company. I don't know if it matters, but I do have pre-existing condition, but I also have a letter from my treating physician that the accident definatly agravated/increased the injury. Do I have a legal malpractice case????????


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search