Maryland | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Was in an accident. My fault. Other driver was badly injured, in hospital for a month with a broken leg and other injuries. Had a very expensive vehicle he was driving. I have state minimum coverage. His medical bills are going to be easily 4-5x my coverage. His vehicle will cost 4x my coverage to repair/replace. I have no assets, as I rent, have no car(it was totalled in accident), have bad credit, but do make 80-90k per year in earnings. Do I need a lawyer (my insurance company will provide one once it goes to court via lawsuit and non-settlement)? Is the insurance companies lawyer going to give me fantastic representation to limit my out of pocket expenses and future liens/garnishments? Can the court pass judgement to garnish my wages? If so how long can they do so and for how much of my wages? I am worried that because I had such little coverage, and the damages were so serious, that I am going to have to declare bankruptcy without even owning anything! What do I do here? Very confused, which is not a good feeling as this is my future.


