Maryland | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Home Owner Association Fees vs. HOA Performance Quality
We are homeowners in a townhouse community which began as a rental property. The ratio of homeowners to current renters while the selling process continues is nearly 50/50. The company with ownership of all unsold townhouses maintains control of the Home Owners Association until 76 percent of the property is sold. That company is/has been absentee out-of-state.
This selling process has been underway for over two years. Since then we have been homeowners and have paid an appreciable amount of money each month as HOA dues. However, there is NO enforcement of the HOA Covenants as written and agreed to by all homeowners prior to purchase. The landscaping is neglected; the swimming pool is not being opened as stated; there is no response to written grievances about common areas or homeowner violations of HOA Rules and Covenants. What is our recourse? We have suffered two years of neglect, mismanagement and a lack of communication with the ''HOA President'' as it stands. Can we escrow our monthly dues until we have a level of performance by the HOA which meets our expectations as outlined in the HOA covenants?


