Maryland  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
2/02/03, 1:08 pm

Legal Question


Military Clause

I am in the Air Force and currently scheduled to deploy in March to the Middle East. I was told that I would be there for only 90 days but because of recent tensions and a message from the Chief of Staff of the Air Force and Secretary of Defense, they are now saying otherwise. They have pretty much told us it won't be for 90 days but they are not saying how long(I am thinking at least 6 months). Along with that, my orders will only say 90 days and in my lease contract it says I can only break the lease if I have orders for more than 90 days. My question is if the landlord stands hard to upholding the lease contract, do I have any legal ''Leg'' to stand on? What would I have to provide to break the contract? I have also attached a recent news article from the CSAF if this helps. Thank You!http://www.af.mil/news/Jan2003/1300361print.shtml


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search