Maryland | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Title Company Wants More Money 9 months after settlement
I own a house in Prince Georges County Maryland, which I do not live in, but have rented out. In July of last year I took out a home equity loan against that property. I just received a letter from the title/settlement company saying that because it is not my principal residence that Prince Georges County charges a 1.4% transfer tax. It should have been clear to them that I did not live in that house, it was not the address I gave them. Now they say they want that 1.4% in order to process my loan documents. I may indeed owe that money, I am not sure. My question is can they come after me at this late date when it should have been asked for a the time of settlement.
Thank you.


