Maryland | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Judgment By Default
What is meant by judgment by default?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Terry Harris |
Re: Judgment By Default It is a judgment entered against someone who failed to defend against a claim. If you've got one, maybe you should see an attorney. (Or more to the point, maybe you should have already seen an attorney.) |
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Judgment By Default You may be able obtain a "Judgment in Default" against your opponent without the need for a court to hear the merits of the case if:
1. Your opponent does not return a response in a timely manner (i.e., does not return a response for defending a claim or fails to file a separate defense), or does not appear in court on the scheduled date. Your opponent has a set time limit to accomplish these matters. In Maryland, for most actions this is 15 days or 30 days. However, there are some actions in Maryland which permit responses as late as 60 or 90 days. These time limits are all set by statute and vary based on the type of claim or case. Some matters do not require a response, but merely an appearance on the date of scheduled trial.
2. Your opponent admits part or all of your claim. If your opponent admits only part of your claim you can enter judgment for the amount admitted but will have to argue in court about the amount which is not admitted. The part of your claim that was admitted is also referred to as a default judgment.
Default judgments apply in civil cases.
Mastering the use of legal terminology requires a considerable commitment of time and effort. If you are confronted with a legal matter, you should speak with an attorney rather than risk the loss of your legal rights.
G. Joseph Holthaus III (410) 799-9002
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Law Office of Denese Dominguez, LLC
Severn, MD
Questions Answered: 128
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-17
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Search Questions and Answers


