Massachusetts | Family Law
Legal Question
Child's rights
What age does a child have to be to be able to decide weather they want to go to another parents house? We are divorced and a child doesn't want to go for there visits all the time.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas Workman |
Re: Child's rights There is no specific age at which a Court will ignore visitation orders. In many cases, the Court discovers that the child has been influenced by the custodial parent, and if that is what is going on, any missed visits could result in a contempt action against the parent who has custody.
If the custodial parent thinks the order of visitation is not in the best interest of the child, then the proper procedure is to get the visitation order modified. If you do that on your own, you may discover that the Court is upset with you, and you could lose custody. I would never recommend that a person go to Court where visitation or custody is involved, without an attorney. An attorney can often say things that do not anger a Judge, whereas if the parent says the same thing, the Judge gets angry, and can take custody away from the "offending" parent. |
Top Attorneys in MA
Law Offices of Henry Lebensbaum (978-749-3606)
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 4059
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Donovan Hatem LLP
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 2956
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Joseph M. Murray, Esq.
East Bridgewater, MA
Questions Answered: 1716
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Gregory P. Lee, Attorney at Law
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1293
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-12-07
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Alan J. Pransky
Dedham, MA
Questions Answered: 858
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office of Barbara C. Johnson
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 596
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-01
Attorney Paul Lancia
Fall River, MA
Questions Answered: 372
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
LAW OFFICE OF ERNEST T. BIANDO, LLC
Spencer, MA
Questions Answered: 230
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Search Questions and Answers


