Massachusetts | Disability Law
Legal Question
pre employment inquiry
On an application for a civil service fire fighter job in Mass. I had answered a question that I had left a previous job because of ''medical reasons''. At the job interview I was told I had to answer what the medical reasons were. They also asked what medications I was on. I ended up being by-passed (persons with lower score hired ). I believe it was because of this pre-employment medical inquiry. Is this legal?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Howard Wilgoren |
Re: pre employment inquiry Employers are very limited in the questions they may ask during a pre employment interview. Here are the Mass Commission Against Discrimination guidelines on what may or may not be asked regarding medical condition. Based on your question it appears the questions were inappropriate. If you wish to discuss this further please call my office for a consultation.
MCAD GUIDELINESHANDICAP/DISABILITY
Employer May Ask
Can you perform any or all of these specific job functions? Please describe or demonstrate how you would perform a specific task. (This request should be asked to all applicants unless there is an obvious disability or voluntarily disclosed hidden disability related to a job function. The employer may need to provide reasonable accommodation for the demonstration.) Can you meet the attendance requirements? What was your attendance record at your prior place of employment? Invite applicants to voluntarily disclose their disability for purposes of assisting the employer in its affirmative action efforts. Make it clear that information will be used solely in connection with its affirmative action efforts, will be kept confidential, and that non-disclosure will not subject the applicant to adverse treatment. Employer May Not Ask
Do you have a handicap/disability? Do you have any job-related handicaps/limitations that would prevent you from doing the job? Have you ever received Workers' Compensation? Have you ever been addicted to illegal drugs or treated for drug abuse/alcoholism? Have you ever been absent from work due to illness? Do you have AIDS? Questions or requests for information regarding the admission of an applicant, on one or more occasions, voluntarily or involuntarily, to any public or private facility for the care and treatment of mentally ill persons, provided that such applicant has been discharged from such a public or private facility or facilities and is no longer under treatment directly related to such admission. Questions regarding the nature, severity, treatment, or prognosis of an obvious disability or of a hidden disability voluntarily disclosed by the applicant _______________________________________________________________________
|
Top Attorneys in MA
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
TIEDEMANN LAW FIRM (TLF)
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 540
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
Cohen & Oalican
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 183
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Law Office of Maurice LaRiviere, Jr.
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 92
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-12
Law Offices of Christopher F. Earley
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 88
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Law Office of Daniel Gindes
Salem, MA
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-20
Law Offices of C.V.Shea III
Worcester, MA
Questions Answered: 69
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-07-04
Law Office of Evan Fray-Witzer
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 58
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-18
Search Questions and Answers


