Massachusetts | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
age to move out
i am 17 and a half years old and i wanted to know if i am of age to move out of my parents house or do i have to wait until i am 18 years old?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Mark S. Moroknek |
Re: age to move out In New York, and most States where the age of emancipation is 18, a 17 year old can move out if he is self supporting. Generally, the question arises in child support situations.
Then the rule is that a parent is legally responsible to support a child until the child becomes emancipated, which is usually defined as a) joining the military or b) earning a living, and living on his own.
I don't practice in MA but this is a good rule of thumb. |
Top Attorneys in MA
VAUGHN-MARTEL LAW
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 1899
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of Barbara C. Johnson
Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 596
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-01
TIEDEMANN LAW FIRM (TLF)
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 540
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of D. Lev, PC
Watertown, MA
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Jonas Jacobson
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
LAW OFFICE OF ERNEST T. BIANDO, LLC
Spencer, MA
Questions Answered: 230
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 139
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Office of Maurice LaRiviere, Jr.
Haverhill, MA
Questions Answered: 92
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-12
Law Office of Jessica A. Foley
Quincy, MA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-14
Search Questions and Answers


