Massachusetts  |  Environmental Law

question bubble
6/28/06, 8:37 am

Legal Question


Legal rights with you lawyer

Ocer 4 years I have paid Mass law firm $150k and lawys on time; Things are tight now so I pay them $3k per month now. I still owe them $20k. Oral arguments are coming up in trial and lawyer said that unless balance is paid off in full he will not hear my oral argument. I am dumbfounded. Can he threaten me like that? What legal rights do I have. There is no mention of this situation in the fee agreement. Please tell me my legal rights here. What can I do? If I fire the lawyer does he have to turn over all the documents and my case file, even if he has not been 100% paid?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search