Massachusetts | Immigration Law
Legal Question
immiration +marriage
My fiance and I have been together
for 2 and a half years. He is an illegal
immigrant from Brazil. During that
time he has been trying to get his
citizenship through his mother, who
is recently a legal US citizen.
Unfortunately various lawyers have
misfiles paperwork, taken advantage
of them, etc.
If he and I were to get married,
would he gain his US citizenship
immediately? I have heard from
some people that he would have to
return to Brazil for a whole year
before he would be allowed back in
the US, but at that time he would
have his citizenship.
Is this true? What EXACTLY would
happen if we got married now?


