Massachusetts | Insurance Law
Legal Question
dental care
I was insured under masshealth, now commonwealth health. I told my dentist my insurance changed, but he insisted that my dental was still under MassHealth. After looking on the computer he told me my dental insurance was still under MassHealth. I went by his word. My Masshealth ended in march. I had work done later on in march and then june totalling $585.00. When i went for a cleaning yesterday he said that i owed him out of pocket for those visits because MassHealth refused to pay him. I reminded him how we went over this prior to my procedures and he said there must have been a mistake. Do I owe him this money out of pocket or does he have to take the loss because of his mistake? He agreed to lower the bill to $280.00 for the mistake. Should I pay or refuse to?


