Massachusetts | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
I've been separated for a while (not divorced yet) and sometime before my moving out I feel in love with my previous therapist. The relationship was strictly professional, he was always very ethical and proper (something I loved about him, if he had been any different I would had thought that he was unprofessional with all his female clients) and nothing happened between us. I only had the guts to profess my feelings for him months after therapy was over through an e-mail, to which he did not reply. I don't have any expectations of a relationship. Though I'm still in love, I only contacted him that time aforementioned.
My ex has been trying for a long time to get back together, although I already told him infinite times that it is over for good. To get him to give up on his untiring pursuit I finally told him I love someone else and revealed his identity. He got jealous and angry, and threatened to contact the hospital where my therapy was conducted and have both the hospital and my former therapist to respond to the law. I'm extremely worried, I don't want an excellent, competent and responsible professional to be accused of something he didn't do.
As ridiculous as it may seem, taking into account that no wrongdoing happened, my question is: Can somehow my disgruntled ex get my former therapist in trouble? Can he damage his reputation? Can he legally sue?
Thank you very much.


