Massachusetts  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
7/08/10, 10:47 am

Legal Question


I am the co-borrower for a home my boyfriend and I bought in 2001. I used my retirement funds in 2004 to refinance because we needed a new septic system and I did not want to owe the town. In 2006 the borrower moved in with a new girlfriend and insisted we sell the house. I had/have no where else to go so I refused. At first he aggreed to pay half the mortgage a month, then it became less because he couldn't afford that. Now he's married to an illegal alien and expecting a child in January 1012. I have been supporting myself all this time but had 2 medical setbacks which in turn set my mortgage payments back 4 months. In 2009 the borrower agreed to do a loan modification with me and that is still ongoing because I lost my job in June. Now he is threatening me with a lawyer even though he stopped helping with the mortgage. He is still responsable for 1/2 the mortgage. What are my options, I refuse to sell my home. J


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search