Massachusetts | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Disclosure
One year ago, I purchased a home using a buyer's broker from the owner through thier seller's broker. A year later, the US Air Force sends a letter updating me regarding thier Super Fund Clean-Up site a few miles away and the contaminated plume of toxic fuel spilled running directly under my property. After researching, I have found that this environmental problem has been on-going since the mid 1980s and is public knowledge to those who live in the area. However, this was the first I heard of this condition which was not disclosed to me by anyone involved in the realeastate transaction.
My questions are:
1. Was this important information required to be disclosed to me as part of the sale?
2. If yes, who is responsible for discosing this info to me and when should it have been done?
3. What rights to leagal action do I have to recoop my damages in lowered property value and possible future health risks?


