Massachusetts  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/18/10, 1:51 pm

Legal Question


Hi,

Our builder cracked our drain pipe which connects to our dishwasher and sink. The contents of our sink and dishwasher emptied into our finished basement for 3 days before we realized there was a problem. The builder put the claim through his liability insurance which only covers actual cash value (less depretiation). The builders insurance company suggested I claim through my homeowners policy, but I don't want to since it may increase my home owners insurance rate for years to come. Since our rug is 7 years old, they told me they will pay me for the rug minus depreciation. We are already paying our builder a good deal of money for our project and now we will have to contribute to replaing our carpet? Is there anything I can do? Should I hold back money from the builder on our project or could I bring him to court to recoup the difference? They keep asking me to claim through my home owners since it will pay 100% for the carpet (replacement value) and then they could recoup some of the money later from the builders insurance policy (called subrugation?). I'm afraid to do that as I don't want my home owners premiums to go up. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in adavnce.

Sincerely,

Ellen


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search