Massachusetts  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/18/09, 1:29 pm

Legal Question


My parents own the land and deed to a house that my husband built. The deed to the house remains in their name. My name is on the mortgage with their names but my husband's name is not on any papers connected to the house. My parents gave us $200,000 to build the house as early inhereitance money to me and my husband contributed $26,000 of his money. Eventually the house was going to be deeded to us through my parents will as an inheritance to me. But we are divorcing now. My husband is saying he is going to sue my parents for $200,000 saying that that is the amount rendered for his building services. Will my parents have to pay him this amount? Is there any valilidity to his claim when there was no written contract? The cost of his building services were never discussed until we were having marital problems and he wanted to use the house as collertoral for his own building business. Does he have any rights to this property if we divorce? The property is located on Cape Cod and is presently being used as a rental property for us to generate income for us.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search